KU announces staff fellows for 2015-16

Friday, September 18, 2015

LAWRENCE — Jeffrey S. Vitter, provost and executive vice chancellor, and Mike Rounds, associate vice provost for human resource management, have announced the 2015-16 class of staff fellows at the University of Kansas. 

The Staff Fellows Program strives to make KU a stronger institution by providing unclassified professional and university support staff members with opportunities to take part in a structured program of professional development. The program includes skill and leadership development and the opportunity to gain broader knowledge of the university. It also provides each staff fellow with a mentor from KU’s senior leadership to broaden the experience, knowledge and resources available to each of the fellows.

Staff from the Lawrence and Edwards campus applied to the program, now in its eighth year. Twelve new fellows were selected. During the academic year, staff fellows work together on a large project with campuswide relevance. Visit the Human Resource Management website for more information about this year’s project. The Office of the Provost and Human Resource Management jointly coordinate the program.

The 2015-16 staff fellows, their roles and their departments at KU:

  • Brian Alfers, assistant custodial supervisor, Facilities Services, Zone 3
  • Matt Baker, human resource manager, Campus Administration and Operations Shared Service Center
  • Jenne Bryant, assistant director, Juniper Gardens Children’s Project - Life Span Institute
  • Michael A. Chavez, on-campus recruitment coordinator, School of Engineering
  • Julie Hartness, academic adviser, School of Business
  • Jeromy Horkman, director of public operations, KU Libraries
  • Jennie Marsh, director of field education, School of Social Welfare
  • Julie Popiel, administrative assistant, Office of Student Housing
  • Andrea Noltner, administrative assistant, Applied Behavioral Science
  • Emily Ryan, associate director, The Commons
  • Kristina Walker, director of education, Spencer Museum of Art
  • Huili Yao, research associate, Department of Chemistry.